Articles Comments » Headline, Humberstone Speedway Press Release » Rouse, Peters, Murray, Haegens, Pelrine and Lafantaisie Claim Honors at New Humberstone Banquet.

Rouse, Peters, Murray, Haegens, Pelrine and Lafantaisie Claim Honors at New Humberstone Banquet.

Port Colborne's New Humberstone Speedway held their 2011 post season Banquet, Dinner and Party at the beautiful Americana Resort Spa and Water Park in Niagara Falls Ont Saturday Night. 265 people celebrated to the tunes of Frank Napoli during the night of celebration.   Cosco Haulage Sportsman pilot Cody Mc Pherson was rewarded the honor of Trevor Wilkens Memorial Driver of the Year for his 6 victories which included twins he post season Trevor Wilkens Memorial DIRT-CAR Sportsman Tour and the 100 Lap Don “Gramps” Ledingham Memorial Sportsman Tour events.   In the Cosco Haulage Sportsman Division, Brad Rouse claimed his 1st ever Championship in his 19 years of racing, 18 of which were in the Sportsman which is the same as the number of his racer, Rouse also went on to claim another title the night after at Merrittville. Rouse claimed 3 wins along the way and took the championship by 10 points over Cody Mc Pherson and followed by: Nick Cupolo, B. J. Willard, Jeff Leggett, Adam Leslie, Darrell Farraway, Mark Dixon, Gary Lindberg and Jeff Armstrong rounding out the top 10. Rouse received a 1/24th scale copy of his championship racer for the honor.   In the Peters Excavating FASTRAK Late Models, Darren Peters became Canada's first ever FASTRAK Champion in the 2011 season. Peters took home 10 victories in the freshman season for the full fendered class. Following Peters in the points chase were: Luke Carleton, 14 year old Jordan Peters, Pete Cosco and Paul Milligan to round out the top 5.   The always exciting Brian's Tires Repair Street Stocks celebrated with Rob Murray taking the championship after taking a year off to try his hand in the Sportsman Division. The excitable Murray returned to the “fun” of the Street Stocks and had 7 wins to show for it. Murray held a 30 point advantage over Bill Bleich Jr, Jason Fontaine, Dave Small, Chris Crawford, Austin Wood, Rob Knapp, Jack Myers, Paul Reichel and Adam Nicholls.   In the Niagara Auto Sales Pro 4 Trucks, Greg Haegens went on to pick up his first ever championship in his 3rd year of racing. In a very closely contested points race, Haegens would take home 4 wins in his banner season and plans to return and truck on for 2012. Haegens was followed by Steve Vanderzanden, Kevin Conley, Danny Wurster, Kameron Kocarik, Hilary Haegens, Lee Sleight, Rick Book, Andy Imbeault and Mike Toovey.   The Weekend Motorsports Mini Stocks Championship went to Kyle Pelrine who put together 3 wins in his 3rd season of racing. Pelrine plans to return to the riggers of the Mini fun bunch for 2012. The next to follow inline were: Rocco Conte, Brandon Iudiciani, Brandon Iudiciani, Jocelyne Wiley, Greg Wilson, Rob Goulding, Garnet Wilson, Brandon Boychuck, Evan Curtis and Chris Laskey.   In the entry level Frontier Auto Dismantler Pure Stocks, Sophomore racer Tyler Lafantaisie scored 2 win en-route to his title claim. Lafantaisie held the championship with a 70 point advantage. Next in line from Lafantaisie was: Jon Vineski, Mike Greene, Leroy Buscumb, and Jackie Giancola.   Champions for 2011 Brad Rouse, Darren Peters, Rob Murray, Greg Haegens, Kyle Pelrine and Tyler Lafantaisie received Championship Jackets from the New Humberstone Speedway with Murray as the only non first time title holder.   All feature winners amongst the 6 regular weekly classes, claimed a feature win plaque for their honors with Rick Wellman photos. In the Pure Stocks plaques went to: Jon Vineski, Mike Greene, Sam Iftodi, Sami Pierce with 1 win. Tyler Lafantaisie and Leroy Buscumb with 2 wins, Dave Larocque with 4 wins and Marcel Michaud with 5 markers. In the Pro 4 Trucks: 1 win for Kameron Kocarik, Hilary Haegens, and Lee Sleight, 2 wins for Kevin Conley, 3 victories went to Steve Vanderzanden, Danny Wurster and Rick Book, and Greg Haegens leading with 4 wins. In the Mini Stocks: Garnet and Greg Wilson with 1 win, Rob Goulding, Brandon Iudiciani, Jocelyne Wiley, and Aaron Wiley with 2 wins. Kyle Pelrine with 3 wins and Rocco Conte leading with 4 wins. In the Street Stocks, Rob Knapp with 1 win, Jason Fontaine and Austin Wood with 2 wins, Bill Bleich Jr had 6 wins with Rob Murray leading the way with 7 wins. In the initial season for the Late Models, Luke Carleton had 2 wins and Darren Peters with 10. And finally, the Sportsman division plaques went to: Nick Cupolo, Jeff Armstrong, Jeff Leggett and Jim Johnstone with 1 win, 2 wins for B.J. Willard and Greg Panunte with 2 wins followed by Brad Rouse with 3 wins and Cody Mc Pherson with 6 wins. In all 100 features were run with 39 different feature winners for 2011.   The Jim Simpson Crew Chief of the Year Award went to former Sportsman racer Jim Leggett who helped Son Jeff earn a fine 5th place finish in the points in the Sportsman Division. Leggett's contribution included a great job in maintaining a 2000 Bicknell Downtube Chassis which also claimed a well deserved win. Leggett was at a loss for words when receiving the honor.   Other Award Winners were:   Eve Of Destruction Winner: Rodney Rutherford.   BEST APPEARING CARS for the 2011 season went to: Pure Stocks: MIKE GREENE, Mini Stocks: ROCCO CONTE, Pro 4 Trucks: KEVIN CONLEY, Street Stocks: AUSTIN WOOD, and Sportsman to JEFF ARMSTRONG.   HARD LUCK AWARDS went to: Pure Stocks: SAMI PIERCE, Mini Stocks: ROB GOULDING, Pro 4 Trucks: ANDY IMBEAULT, Street Stocks: ED Mc NAMARA, Late Models: JORDAN PETERS and Sportsman: B.J. WILLARD.   ROOKIES OF THE YEAR went to: Mini Stocks: NATHAN MONAHAN, Pro 4 Trucks: LEE SLEIGHT, Street Stocks: AUSTIN WOOD and Sportsman: MATT SHARPE.   MOST IMPROVED DRIVERS went to: Pure Stocks: JACKIE GIANCOLA, Mini Stocks, GREG WILSON, Pro 4 Trucks: STEVE VANDERZANDEN, Street Stocks, JACK MYERS and Sportsman DARRELL FARRAWAY.   SPORTSMANSHIP AWARDS went to: Pure Stocks: LEROY BUSCUMB, Mini Stocks: GARNET WILSON, Pro 4 Trucks: DANNY WURSTER, Street Stocks: CHRIS CRAWFORD, Late Models, LUKE CARLETON and Sportsman: JEFF LEGGETT.   HARD CHARGER AWARDS went to: Pure Stocks: MARCEL MICHAUD, Mini Stocks: KYLE PELRINE, Pro 4 Trucks: KAMERON KOCARIK, Street Stocks: BILL BLEICH, and Sportsman to BRAD ROUSE.   WEEKEND MOTORSPORTS SPECIAL PRESENTATION went to BRADON BOYCHUCK for overcoming many odds and claiming a top 10 finish in points.   A.B.C.D. AWARD which is Above and Beyond the Call of Duty went to Track Staffer MARK ARMSTRONG for 7 day a week dedication to helping maintain what ever was needed around the track at a moments notice and still helping Brother Jeff in the Sportsman division to a top 10 finish in points.   In Closing, The Banquet was emceed by Speedway Announcer Fran Bushardt and the evening included a 20 minute Video presentation by Videographer Andrew Bilous. Many door prizes were handed out throughout the night and the Speech Portion was concluded with GM Bob Davidson thanking the Race Teams, Sponsors, Staff and all attendees for a fine 2011 season and promising and even better 2012. For more information on any any thing about Humberstone Speedway, Please call Humberstone Speedway at: 905-834-4002 or call Cosco Haulage at: 905-935-2886 Be sure to checkout the website at: and become a friend on Facebook and Twitter!!!  

Written by

Filed under: Headline, Humberstone Speedway Press Release

Comments are closed.